SchemaDesk

CRM comparisons

CRM limits comparison: custom objects, fields, and records

Teams that outgrow Contacts + Companies + Deals hit the same wall: the CRM either cannot model their nouns, or it can only after an expensive tier. This page compares public, cited limits for custom objects (or the closest equivalent), custom fields/properties, and record/contact caps across major tools. SchemaDesk is listed for contrast.

Checked on 30 Oct 2026 (Africa/Tunis). Vendor pages change; re-check the linked sources before relying on a figure.

How to read this table

  • Custom objects: first-class types you define (HubSpot/Attio/Zoho custom modules). If a vendor only offers boards, columns, or fields on fixed entities, that is called out.
  • Custom fields: properties you add on records.
  • Records / contacts: published caps on how many rows you can store.
  • Cheapest unlock tier: lowest listed plan that meaningfully unlocks flexible objects (or the best documented equivalent).
  • not stated: the cited page did not give a clear number in the content retrieved. That is not the same as unlimited.
  • Currency: most competitor list prices below are USD as shown on their pages. SchemaDesk prices are EUR. No currency conversion.

CRM limits comparison

CRM custom objects, fields, and record limits by vendor
VendorCustom objects (availability + cap)Custom fields / propertiesRecords / contactsCheapest tier unlocking flexible custom objects (or closest)Listed price (cited)Billing notes
HubSpotEnterprise hubs only. Customer Platform Enterprise: up to 10 custom object definitions, 1,000,000 custom object records, 50 custom object pipelines. Add-on: +10 objects and +1M records for $500/mo.Property limits vary by subscription; exact Starter/Free property caps not stated in pages sampled. Catalog notes limits depend on subscription.Marketing contact entitlements scale by hub. Free CRM contact marketing entitlements: re-check the live free CRM page before quoting a single number.Sales Hub Enterprise (or other Enterprise hubs)Sales Hub Enterprise $150/month per seat (catalog). Custom Objects Limit Increase $500/month (add-on).Per seat; Enterprise commonly annual commitment
PipedriveFirst-class custom objects: not stated. Model is leads, deals, people, orgs + custom fields.Custom fields per company: Lite 30; Growth 100; Premium 300; Ultimate 500Leads + deals: seat-based formula with company hard cap 300,000. Contacts: no usage limits (usage-limits article).N/A for HubSpot-style objects. Custom fields from Lite (30).Lite US$14 / Growth US$39 / Premium US$59 / Ultimate US$79 per seat per month when billed annuallyPer seat; annual prices shown (monthly also offered)
Zoho CRMCustom modules: Free none; Standard 10; Professional 25; Enterprise 200; Ultimate 500 (custom + team modules combined, help docs)Custom fields per module: Free none; Standard 10; Professional 155; Enterprise 300; Ultimate 500 (specs)Data storage examples in edition comparison PDF: Free 5,000 records; Standard 100,000 records; higher editions list multi-GB / multi-million record style ceilings in the PDFStandard (first edition with custom modules)From Zoho CRM Editions PDF (USD): Standard $14/user/mo annual ($20 monthly); Professional $23 annual ($35 monthly); Enterprise $40 annual ($50 monthly); Ultimate $52 annual ($65 monthly).Per user; annual vs monthly
monday CRMHubSpot-style custom objects: not stated. Uses entity boards and columns.Columns per board: Basic 5; Standard 15; Pro 75; Ultimate unlimited (pricing page)Active contacts and deals: Basic 1,000; Standard 10,000; Pro 100,000; Ultimate unlimitedBoards from Basic (heavy caps). More headroom on Pro or UltimateBasic $12 seat/mo yearly shown ($18 monthly); Standard $17 yearly ($25 monthly); Pro $28 yearly ($41 monthly); Ultimate customPer seat; yearly vs monthly; plans start from 3 users (FAQ)
Salesforce Starter / Pro SuiteStarter is turnkey. Custom objects unlocked on Pro Suite (Starter FAQ)Field caps on Starter page: not statedRecord caps on Starter page: not statedPro SuiteStarter $25 USD/user/month; Pro Suite $100 USD/user/month starting (annual contract on Pro)Per user; Starter monthly or annual; Pro annual contract
AttioObjects including Companies and People: Free up to 3; Plus up to 5; Pro up to 12; Enterprise unlimitedAttribute caps beyond object counts: not stated on pricing pageRecords: Free 50,000; Plus 250,000; Pro 1,000,000; Enterprise customCustom objects within Free's 3-object cap; more headroom on Plus/Pro; unlimited objects on EnterpriseFree $0; Plus $35/user/mo annual ($44 monthly); Pro $79 annual ($99 monthly); Enterprise customPer user; monthly or annual
folkCustom objects: not stated on pricing pagenot statednot statednot statedStandard $24/member/mo annual ($30 monthly); Premium $48 annual ($60 monthly); Enterprise from $80 annualPer member; monthly or annual
Airtable (used as CRM)Tables as flexible structures (not HubSpot CRM custom objects)Field limits: not stated on primary pricing pages sampledRecords per base: Free 1,000; Team 50,000; Business 125,000 (plans overview / pricing narratives)Team or Business for larger CRM-shaped basesFree $0; Team $20/user/mo annual; Business $45/user/mo annualPer billable collaborator
SchemaDeskNo limits on custom objects; no fair-use ceiling (Free and Pro). Templates seed objects (Agency includes Retainers).No limits on custom fields; no fair-use ceiling (Free and Pro).No limits on records; no fair-use ceiling (Free and Pro).Free forever (2 people, 1 workspace) includes unlimited objects. Pro adds automations and API. Until April 2027 every team gets full Pro features free.Free forever 0 EUR (2 people, 1 workspace). Pro 10 EUR/seat/mo from April 2027. Founding 5 EUR/seat if you join before April 2027 and start paying by 30 April 2027. Everyone free until April 2027.Free forever: no automations, no API, 30-day history. Pro: unlimited people, up to 3 workspaces per person, automations, API keys and webhooks, full history, roles and permissions, priority support. Pro is 10 EUR per seat per month (founding 5 EUR if you join before April 2027 and start paying by 30 April 2027).

Short explainer

HubSpot makes custom objects an Enterprise feature and still caps definitions and custom-object records on the suite Enterprise page, with a paid add-on to raise those caps.

Pipedrive is strong for deal pipelines and custom fields, but public docs emphasize field and deal caps rather than arbitrary object types.

Zoho CRM offers custom modules earlier than HubSpot, starting at Standard, with edition caps documented in help. Prices above come from Zoho's official edition comparison PDF after the marketing HTML hid JS prices.

monday CRM models work as boards and columns. Flexibility exists, but Basic through Pro publish hard caps on columns and active contacts/deals.

Salesforce Starter is explicit that deeper customization, including custom objects, is a reason to move to Pro Suite.

Attio documents object and record ceilings by plan, with unlimited objects reserved for Enterprise.

folk pricing is clear; object/field/record caps were not stated on the pricing page retrieved.

Airtable is often used as a CRM substitute. Record-per-base caps are the binding constraint for many teams.

SchemaDesk has no limits on objects, fields, and records on Free and on Pro, and no fair-use ceiling. That covers the data model only, not unlimited automations or workspaces. Until April 2027 every team gets full Pro features free (including automations and API); from April 2027 those stay on Pro. Until April 2027, every team gets full Pro features free. Unlimited people, up to 3 workspaces per person, automations, API keys and webhooks, full history, roles and permissions, plus unlimited objects, fields, and records. In April 2027, choose Pro or move to Free forever. Billing starts in April 2027 for everyone, no matter when they joined. Teams with no plan chosen move automatically to Free forever. SchemaDesk sends notices 30, 7, and 1 day before. No data is deleted. From then, Free forever is up to 2 people and 1 workspace (unlimited objects, fields, and records; no automations; no API; 30-day history), and Pro is 10 EUR per seat per month. Anyone who joins before April 2027 can lock 5 EUR per seat per month for life while subscribed, as long as they start paying by 30 April 2027. Each person can hide, reorder, and group their sidebar into named sections. Objects can be renamed and given an icon from a set of 30. Home dashboard widgets cover numbers, record lists, and bar, pie, or line charts from any object, with grouping, date ranges, and filters. Widgets can be personal, or pinned for everyone by admins.

Methodology

  • Opened each vendor's public pricing page and the most specific public help/catalog page for objects, fields, or usage limits.
  • Recorded numbers only when visible in the retrieved page, PDF, or help article.
  • Used not stated when the page was silent or content was not recoverable.
  • Currencies were left as published. No invented annual-vs-monthly math beyond what the page showed.
  • For Zoho list prices, the public pricing HTML was JS-rendered with empty data-price attributes on curl; prices were taken from the official USD edition comparison PDF hosted by Zoho, cross-checked against https://www.zoho.com/crm/pricing.html as the live pricing entry point.
  • Checked on 30 Oct 2026.

Sources list

Next step

If the table shows the process needs objects the current stack gates behind Enterprise, evaluate a CRM that treats the data model as the product.

Frequently asked questions

What are CRM custom objects?

Custom objects (sometimes called custom modules or entity types) are record types beyond the vendor's standard set such as contacts, companies, and deals. Teams use them for inventory, properties, retainers, candidates, subscriptions, and other nouns outside a generic sales model.

Why do custom object limits matter?

If the business process needs its own nouns, a CRM that gates custom objects behind Enterprise pricing or caps how many you can create forces workarounds: spreadsheets, shadow databases, or expensive upgrades.

Does Pipedrive have custom objects?

Public Pipedrive pricing and usage-limit pages describe custom fields on standard entities and caps on leads and deals. Those pages describe no HubSpot-style first-class custom objects. See https://support.pipedrive.com/en/article/usage-limits-in-pipedrive and https://www.pipedrive.com/en/pricing.

How often was this table checked?

Figures were checked against the cited public pages on 30 Oct 2026 (Africa/Tunis). Vendors change plans; re-check URLs before publishing updates.

Is SchemaDesk really unlimited?

SchemaDesk has no limits on objects, fields, and records on Free and on Pro, and no fair-use ceiling. That covers the data model only, not unlimited automations or workspaces. Until April 2027 every team gets full Pro features free (including automations and API); from April 2027 those stay on Pro. Until April 2027, every team gets full Pro features free. Unlimited people, up to 3 workspaces per person, automations, API keys and webhooks, full history, roles and permissions, plus unlimited objects, fields, and records. In April 2027, choose Pro or move to Free forever. Billing starts in April 2027 for everyone, no matter when they joined. Teams with no plan chosen move automatically to Free forever. SchemaDesk sends notices 30, 7, and 1 day before. No data is deleted. From then, Free forever is up to 2 people and 1 workspace (unlimited objects, fields, and records; no automations; no API; 30-day history), and Pro is 10 EUR per seat per month. Anyone who joins before April 2027 can lock 5 EUR per seat per month for life while subscribed, as long as they start paying by 30 April 2027.

Are prices comparable across vendors?

No. Currencies differ (USD vs EUR), annual vs monthly discounts differ, and some plans require minimum seats or annual contracts. The table lists prices as shown on each source page without FX conversion.